RACE REVIEW: BATTLEFROG ATLANTA (Spring 2015)

The best team you could ask for...

I have to be honest with you guys from the jump here. As you already know from my previous reviews- I am a huge BattleFrog fan. I have been ridiculously excited about this race since… oh… last year.   However, BattleFrog announced a major change a few months ago that put doubt in my heart. They were eliminating their 5k OR 15k option and going with a single 8k option. As a trainer, I loved giving my clients this lighter or more challenging option to train for in the gym… and I felt that the reduced length would mean a reduced experience for the 15k racers. I was a little bit peeved at first, I bitched and complained… and I will admit that I was highly skeptical as I walked onto the venue Saturday with my team.

So my opinion flipped... much like my vertical position here.

So my opinion flipped… much like my vertical position here.

SPOILER ALERT: I am not wrong often you guys… but mark your calendars… I was wrong on May 16, 2015.   The race was indeed shorter (I will cover more in the terrain section)… but the obstacles… good lord.

THE TERRAIN:   BattleFrog chose the same location as last year- Georgia International Horse Park- in Conyers, GA.  BF got my attention real damn quick with their use of the property last year. As a matter of fact, the use of terrain was one of my primary reasons for touting this series so highly. We were in rivers, ponds, over slate beds, through fields, woods and culverts. It was incredible. This year… the terrain was not as varied. I will offer that they had fewer miles to work with… which means they can only get to use so much of the property. We definitely did not get nearly as wet or muddy as we did last year. As I mentioned- I believe BF made up for the mileage in their obstacles… but I have to say that there simply wasn’t as much varied terrain as last year- and that was a bit of a let down.

Uphill. Both ways. In the snow. With gas cans.

Uphill. Both ways. In the snow. With gas cans.

THE OBSTACLES: So while I was a little bit disappointed with the terrain and mud… the obstacles were ridiculously hard and strategic this year.   The regular offenders made their appearances this year… Like the Jerry Can Carry that took a trip up hill through single track trails. They stacked obstacles together for increased difficulty… several grip obstacles in a row, followed by several pull-up-and-over obstacles stacked together.   I ultimately decided to forego a monkey bar obstacle (and do my body-builders) to save my grip for the Tsunami (quarter pipe, run and pull up obstacle). There was another grip-burning obstacle that was similar to “tip of the spear” from last year… but wickedly different. On this one, you had to cross slanted walls laterally with ropes, or a small ledge (pretty much only finger tips could fit), and your legs had to stay high and tight to make it work… there were no footholds.   There was an inverted suspended ladder over a water feature (I believe it was named “bridge over river cry”)… another grip and core burner that immediately followed those hateful monkey bars. I have to say that I did find that the cargo nets and Tsunami wall SEEMED more narrow this year- which led to some major major bottlenecking. A small offense… BF just needs to look at widening those obstacles… or adding extra lanes, etc.

THE FESTIVAL: Similar to last year- the volunteers were amazing and pumped. Check-in was more electronic this year, and therefore a bit more elegant. The merch tent was FABULOUS (again, they roll in deep with womens cuts and kids stuff… not to mention tactical sleeves and such that can be used on the course… check out mine in the Jerry Can pick above!)… their gear is high quality and holds up well. Coach Pain Dewayne kicked ass- made your heart swell, and your blood pump fast while warming each of the waves up for their flights.   I feel like BattleFrog did an excellent job of spreading out the festival tents (but not too far) on the campus so that it didn’t feel crowded- but keeping things like the showers, gear check, and changing areas close together in a way that made sense. (however, if anyone from BattleFrog HQ happens to trip over this review: White Tents instead of blue for the changing area… we were changing in the dark in there y’all! 😉

SUMMARY: I walked away from this race incredibly proud. I am proud of myself, my team, and this racing series. I am so happy to see the 2014 freshmen back at it, making adjustments and showing up as solid sophomores… still showing room for growth… but putting on a kick ass and UNIQUE race.   I love that this series is ballsy and not afraid of a little #shirtgate with Spartan… BattleFrog has a sense of humor and cajones! (What more could a girl ask for!??!) I also love that BattleFrog elicits acts of heroism from regular Joes every time I am on their course. You’ll remember Stephanie, the wounded warrior spouse from SC last year… we saw her AND HER HUSBAND on the course this year in Atlanta… and were privileged to run along side them. Then there is my client, Christian, whom has suffered injuries and set-backs… that crossed the finish line- crushing mental and physical goals… with a big WHOOOOO!

Rick Flair said it best... Whoooooo!

Rick Flair said it best… Whoooooo!

This series embodies what I love about OCR’s… it has a magic that brings out the best in people, pushes them beyond their boundaries, and creates a space for racers to see themselves in a different way. Once you’re over the finish line, medal in hand… you can’t help but recount the personalities on the course, the obstacles you crushed, and the ones that beat you this time. That’s why I love and adore this sport: you leave changed athlete every single time… it’s an experience.   Rumor has it that BattleFrog will be back in the Atlanta area in November! It’s at a new venue in West Georgia- and I am pumped to race it! Get in on that early bird action here: http://battlefrogseries.com/battlefrog-atlanta-2015-ii/

Leave a Reply

