A Change in Direction

I mentioned in my last blog entry that I try to stay aware of boredom or monotony in my training regimen. As a matter of fact, the image above of me pushing my car was part of a training day that was borne out of boredom and contempt for the kettlebell workout I had planned for the day. I got a great work out that day (I also worked on one-hand handstands); and it did the trick to get me out of my rut.

Lately I haven’t felt as *inspired* about my work-outs. I was getting them done, and feeling good and accomplished, but I wasn’t necessarily looking forward to them. Late last week I saw that 3 of my favorite imaginary fitness coaches (Marianne Kane, Kellie Davis, and Bret Contreras) had combined forces and were launching a new product. Now let me preface the remainder of this post with two disclaimers:

  1. I have not purchased anything other than equipment, and a personal training session during this journey (okay, okay- and food!). The main reason is that I wanted to keep things simple, and not waste any money on gimmicky plans. I wanted to take the time and really work on the basics- and keep the BS out.
  2. I am not receiving any compensation what-so-ever from Get Glutes or any of the coaches for this blog post. I am just passing along the information.

I was really REALLY excited about my 3 favorite imaginary coaches coming together, but was hesitant on spending ANY money on a “program” (see disclaimer #1). However, at an introductory price of $9.95 (and you can cancel at anytime)- it seemed like an easy risk to take. Here is a run down of what the program consists of, taken directly from their site:

“Package Includes:

    • Monthly fitness programs with 3 strength-training and 3 conditioning workouts designed exclusively for Get Glutes Members by Bret Contreras, Kellie Davis, and Marianne Kane to help you finally build the body you’ve always wanted.
    • In-depth tutorial videos explaining each exercise, with guides on how to modify the exercises to fit your fitness level”.

Additionally they mention the following:

“However, don’t let the name of this program fool you. Yes, we put a great emphasis on building a better booty. But this program packs in workouts that challenge your entire body, empowering you to improve your shape from head to toe.”

So, I had Mr. S take a look at it- just to make sure I wasn’t “falling for some gimmick”, and decided to take them up on their introductory offer. I have done all of this months workouts one time through now- and I have to say that I am THRILLED! They use the equipment I already have here at home (in fact they developed the program with us at-home-gym people in mind)- my kettlebell, free weights, suspension and pull up bar. The workouts have introduced new exercises to me (they have video tutorials included with each workout), and the moves are stacked in ways that I haven’t done before. Additionally, you get a different approach from each coach, which keeps things new and refreshing.

I have taken some “before” pictures, and I hope to update in a few weeks with some “progress” pictures of how this program is working out for me. But for now- I couldn’t be more pleased!

I know that part of my lack in inspiration with my training had to do with the fact that I have been “reinventing the wheel” for quite a while now, and frankly was just getting tired of having to write my own “plan” without real expertise on what I should really be doing to progress. So this plan gets me out of having to think about what to do- they have the schedule there, the list of exercises, the video…. all you have to do it just go do it. No research required! Secondly, I needed a shot in the arm… something new. And obviously- a new approach solves that problem too.

So, I am not abandoning my Weightlifting or Kettlebells- they are still definitely there in this program!!! But obviously I will not be able to share my daily workout details while I am participating in this program. I am sure I will return to more independent training at some point, and I will return to blogging my daily workouts then. In the meantime, I look forward to continuing to share any cool and awesome links and information here… and I will definitely update my progress as well! WOOT!

The reason I am busting this blog post out in a hurry, is because I just noticed that they have extended their introductory offer through TODAY! So you can get in on the same deal I did! You can check it out for less than $10 bucks and see if you like it! Here’s the link to their site.

With that in mind- yesterday was an “active rest”… and for many reasons I just *needed* to run. I got 3.7 miles in 40 minutes. It was a truly fabulous run- I even got to wear short-sleeves, and shorts!

Till next time,
~J

Leave a Reply

