Kettlebell Day: 12/18/12 (AKA: when not resting screws up your game)

So today was Kettlebell day.  And honestly, I should have taken the advice that my body was giving me- and just gone for a long brisk walk instead.  I am struggling with a good “workout days to rest days ratio”… I still haven’t quite figured out what will work for my body and my goals (I will write about my current goals soon… as weight loss is thankfully not #1 anymore).  In addition to not having a good program/schedule in place yet- Mr S. and I stayed up too late watching the Spiderman movie last night.  If you stay up late, ladies and gentlemen, your workout WILL PAY FOR IT.  I could only complete two rounds of this workout (should have been 3). On top of that, I felt like I was recovering from a 3 day bender the whole time.  It sucked.

Do as I say, not as I do.  Get your sleep, your body needs it.  If you don’t get that sleep- don’t pick up heavy things- as it could end in disaster. While I didn’t injure myself today- my body definitely put me in time-out for not getting the necessary sleep.  Tomorrow will be a complete rest day… brisk walk for 30 minutes and that IS IT. Lesson Learned. (hopefully)

If you are following this blog for workout ideas- my circuit for today is below.  I decided to change it up and go for reps instead of time.

All done with 25# kettlebell (except for the obvious body weight exercises- like pushups and burpees):
1: Right Handed Squat Thrusters (10 reps)
2. Left Handed Squat Thrusters (10 reps)
3. Burpees (10 reps)
4. Two-Handed Kettlebell Swings (25 reps)
5. Toyotas (10 reps)
6. Push-ups (10 reps)
7. Vertical Swing + Burpee (10 reps)

Again- I had planned for 3 rounds… but could only complete 2 today.  See you on THURSDAY…

~J

Leave a Reply

