Kettlebell Day: 12/10/12

Today I did this workout from http://www.myomytv.com (click on over to her site for the instructional video that goes along with it). I did have to modify the stand-kneel-stands as I don’t have a mat or knee pad- and my knees and concrete basement floor don’t mix.  So I substituted single leg lunges in there.  Holy Moly this was an incredible work out.  As usual I was ready to quit after the second round, pushed on through and did the 3rd round (mentally swearing the whole way)… Here is the workout- my reps are in brackets:

  1. Right Leg Reverse Lunge (20lbs in each hand) {12, 11, 9}
  2. Left Leg Reverse Lunge (20lbs in each hand) {12, 11, 9}
  3. Bent Over Alternating Row (loaned out my other KB- so I can’t do renegade at the moment) 25lbs {16, 13, 13}
  4. Two-Handed KB Swing (25lb) (26, 27, 27)
  5. Mountain Climbers (I don’t have an aerobic step for the step ups she does) (35, 40, 50)
  6. Push Press (right) (25lb) (11,11, 12)
  7. Push Press (left) (same) (11, 11, 12)
  8. Single Leg RDL (left) (25lb (12, 12, 12)
  9. SL RDL (right) (same) (12, 12, 12)
  10. Burpees (9, 9, 13)

That’s in interval style, so 40seconds of work, with 20 seconds of rest between exercises- through all 10.  I rested a minute or two after each circuit- to totally recover from those burpees, doing the entire circuit 3 total times.  I timed myself, and it took about 40 minutes for me to complete this one.
*Remember this is what I do now- after 8 or so months with a Kettlebell. If you are new, head over to the beginners corner on http://www.myomytv.com’s site— take your time! I did those beginner workouts she has there for a good 2 weeks before jumping in to other stuff*
Note: I use the Gymboss App (free!) on my iphone to ding me when to start and stop.

See you next time!
~J

Leave a Reply

