Unlearning Everything I Thought I Knew (Pt. 2)- Fitness

So, where were we… March 2012. I was down 40 total pounds from November weighing in in the low 180’s.  It was spring, and I knew I needed to get my body MOVING if the scale was going to continue to track downwards.  So, I did the same thing as before- Crazy Long Ass Cardio Workouts.  And the scale wasn’t budging, not even a pound.

I just happened to be shooting (I am also a photographer, not a hunter) a good friend of mine, who is also a Personal Trainer. I told her about what I was doing… and it not working.  Her response was simple: “Get a Kettlebell, it’ll get you results and fast”.  I didn’t even know what a kettlebell was.
Instead of regurgitating everything I researched and found along the way- I am just going to list off the big misconceptions and lies I had to unlearn, with links to people that have said it way better than I ever could:

  • Lifting Heavy Weights Is a Must in Fat Loss.  You *can* lose fat and build muscle all at the same time. See 30 reasons why here.
  • You Will NOT get BIG and Bulky from lifting heavy. I don’t know who started that myth way back whenever… I am convinced that they were scared of strong women.  This is such a BIG HUGE LIE. Unless you are a Dude, with Dude hormones- OR are taking anabolic hormones you simply CANNOT get bulky.  God just didn’t make us girls that way.  Take it up with him.  For evidence, I offer Exhibit A, Exhibit B, Exhibit C, and I could list dozens.  Just believe me on this.  You have been lied to. (That is unless you think my exhibits look bulky-  and if that’s the case, I can’t help you- maybe an optometrist can.)
  • Lifting Man Weights Can be FUN.  Yep… Click it and check it out.
  • Kettlebells are THE secret Weapon.  There are many articles you can google and find out why Kettlebells are the bomb… but here is one from an Author I trust and an organization that is responsible for certifying trainers in the way of the Kettlebell.

That’s it.  Yep… my exercise lesson is really that freaking simple. Lift heavy stuff.  Put it back down. Do it again. And again. If you want some endurance- go get yourself some cardio.  But just don’t count on it for fat loss.  In order to lose weight, you gotta lift it. I have totally been bitten by the Obstacle Course Racing bug (like spartan races, warrior dashes, etc)… and there is an expectation that you run in between the obstacles (geez!)… so I include training for trail running in my workout rotation.  I am not saying Cardio is bad… it’s great for heart and lung health, endurance and conditioning.  My only point is that cardio should be done for *good health*, and weight training should be done for fat loss (although it obviously contributes to good health as well).

As for my results: I started seeing muscles take form and tone up within just a week or two of starting with Kettlebells (at that time I was doing them every other day for 20 minutes, taking the weekend off). The fat just peeled off of me. I have continued to see toning and reshaping every week with my kettlebell. Then in May or so, I began to incorporate traditional HEAVY weight training into my workout rotation. I love lifting heavy for so many reasons- but the main one is just because I CAN. I am *that* strong that I can bench press, deadlift, squat, etc with weights in the triple digits in my hands. Also I have been able to focus on some areas that I wanted to improve even further on. For instance, I decided one day that I would like to have an ass- since I am not genetically predisposed to having one… So I have been a deadlifting, squatting, hip thrusting FOOL since then- lol!)
I now weigh about 20 pounds more than the day I got married- I was a size 8/10 back then.  However, I am now a size 4 in jeans. Clearly, I am smaller now (even though I weigh more), than I was 13 years ago- before I had children! The point is don’t just watch the scale to measure your success. I keep up with measurements, pant sizes, pictures, and the scale.  Don’t depend on just one. Speaking of pictures- here is what I look like now…

August 2012

August 2012

October 31, 2012

October 31, 2012

I don't *think* I look big and bulky :)

I don’t *think* I look big and bulky 🙂 December 2012

My two “go to” resources for my workouts are:

Kettlebell days: www.myomytv.com and if you are new to Kettlebells- check out her Beginners Corner.
Weight Lifting Days: I pretty much follow this workout on Nia Shanks page- and just increase my weight every week. Scroll about half way down, she has a 3 day plan there.  She explains why only 3 days in the body of the blog post.
Off Days: I do nothing, or maybe go for a run 🙂

Yea!!!! The introductions are OVER! Now I can get on with the fun stuff that I really created the blog for… the daily workouts, fun links, etc. etc.  Please feel free to leave your thoughts, responses and questions below! There you have all the info on how I got fat, unlearning everything about food, and now the fitness part.  Thanks for reading! See you after my next work out!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: It’s Easy for You… You’re Fit. | I Ain't Skinny

Leave a Reply

